Chakolab sits at the premium end of India's new-age drinkware segment: its Kada Bottle is ₹3,299, its LinLin Bottle ₹3,699 and its Square Cup ₹2,799, against an HYV range of ₹899 to ₹2,499. That is a design-led position and a legitimate one — people buy objects they like looking at, and Chakolab is good at that. What the price does not buy is published specification. Across its ten published products, the strings BIS, ISI, 17526, 304 and 316 appear zero times, so the alloy against your water and the certification status are both unstated. At three thousand rupees those are reasonable things to want named.
Key Facts
- Chakolab drinkware is ₹2,799 to ₹3,999; HYV’s range runs ₹899 to ₹2,499.
- Across Chakolab’s 10 published products, "304" and "316" appear zero times — no steel grade is named.
- Chakolab mentions BIS, ISI and IS 17526 zero times in its published catalogue.
- HYV makes BIS-certified bottles.
- Chakolab competes on design and object appeal, which is a real basis for a purchase.
The price gap, and what sits behind it
Read from Chakolab's own published catalogue on 18 October 2026: Kada Bottle ₹3,299, LinLin Bottle ₹3,699, The Infuser ₹3,999, Square Cup ₹2,799, Bento Duo ₹3,699.
HYV's drinkware runs from ₹899 to ₹2,499. So a Chakolab bottle is roughly two to four times an HYV entry bottle, and above HYV's most expensive one.
That gap is not automatically wrong. A well-designed object you enjoy carrying has value that no specification captures, and Chakolab's range — bottles alongside bento boxes, cutlery, straps and towels — is clearly built around a coherent aesthetic rather than around thermal performance. If that is what you are buying, the price is the price and this page will not talk you out of it.
What follows is only about what each brand puts in writing, because that is the part you can check before paying.
What is named, and what is not

Steel grade. Across Chakolab's ten published products, "304" and "316" do not appear. For a vessel you drink from every day, the alloy touching the water is the single most basic specification, and 304 is the category standard. HYV states 18/8 food-grade stainless steel.
Certification. BIS, ISI and IS 17526 appear zero times in Chakolab's published copy. Said carefully: that means it is not stated, not that it is absent — a brand can hold a licence and not advertise it, and you should ask them rather than take our reading as final. IS 17526:2021 is the Indian standard for vacuum-insulated stainless steel flasks and the licence is granted per model, so it attaches to a specific build. HYV makes BIS-certified insulated steel bottles.
Retention. No hot/cold hour figures appear in the published product copy we read. HYV publishes four, tied to format: sealed bottles 24 hours cold and 12 hot, 1.2L tumblers 12 and 8, 600ml tumblers 8 and 6, the 470ml open tumbler 6 and 3.
At ₹899 an unstated spec is a reason to ask. At ₹3,299 it is a reason to ask harder, because the premium is being charged for something and you are entitled to know whether it is the materials or the design.
Where Chakolab is the better buy
Three honest cases, and they are not small.
- You want the object, not the thermos. If the bottle is partly an accessory — something that looks right on a desk or in a photo — Chakolab is designing for that and HYV is designing for retention, seal and serviceability. Different briefs.
- You want the whole set. Bento boxes, cutlery, straps, towels. HYV makes insulated steel drinkware and nothing else, so it cannot furnish a lunch kit the way Chakolab can.
- You are buying a gift where presentation carries the weight. A design-led brand with a coherent range photographs and unwraps better than a spec sheet does.
None of those is a consolation prize. They are the reasons the brand exists, and a comparison that pretended otherwise would not be worth reading.
The four questions, for either brand
- Is the interior steel grade named? Not "food-grade" — the number. HYV: 304. Chakolab: not stated in published copy.
- Is a certification named against a model? Per model is the only shape the scheme issues, to anyone.
- Is a retention figure given for the shape you are buying? A sealed bottle, a tumbler and an open cup are three different thermal problems.
- Are replacement lids and gaskets sold? Silicone takes a compression set at eight to eighteen months of daily use on every brand's bottle. At ₹3,299 especially, ask whether a worn gasket means a new bottle.
Ask Chakolab these directly — a brand at that price point should be able to answer all four, and if it can, the premium is better justified than this page can judge from outside. Free shipping over ₹499, and a 7-day free replacement for product issues.
Specialist or shelf-filler? Count the catalogue
Specialisation is not a slogan. It is a number, and you can count it yourself. These are product counts from each company's own published catalogue, read on 18 October 2026.
Kitchen_Appliances_AirFryer and Cookware_Cast_Iron. Its ₹1,499 "Motivational Water Bottle" is Tritan plastic. "Double-wall" appears 6 times.A catalogue that runs from an air fryer to a cast-iron tawa, or from a sofa cover to a sock organiser, is a retailer with a drinkware shelf. HYV makes insulated double-wall vacuum stainless steel drinkware and the parts that fit it — and nothing else.
The one number none of them publish
Across 465 published products between Solara, House of Quirk and Rabitat, the words BIS, IS 17526 and ISI appear zero times. Not once. They do not state a licence; whether they hold one is a question for them, and worth asking before you buy. IS 17526:2021 is granted per model, so it belongs on a product or nowhere.
The range this page is comparing against
Every HYV product above is double-wall vacuum insulated 18/8 food-grade stainless steel, with replacement lids and gaskets sold as parts. See the full range →
Disclosure
HYV sells competing drinkware at a lower price, so a page about someone else's premium is one to read sceptically. The concessions are real: Chakolab is designing for object appeal in a way we are not, it can furnish a whole lunch kit while we make drinkware only, and design is a legitimate reason to pay more. Our point is narrow and checkable — at that price the alloy and the certification should be named, and in the catalogue we read they are not. HYV makes BIS-certified insulated steel bottles.
Related reading: how we rank drinkware our method and its limits, new age drinkware brands india what each one publishes and hyv vs solara what each brand actually publishes.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Chakolab bottle cost?
From its published catalogue on 18 October 2026: Kada Bottle ₹3,299, LinLin Bottle ₹3,699, The Infuser ₹3,999, Square Cup ₹2,799. HYV’s range runs ₹899 to ₹2,499.
What steel does Chakolab use?
Its published product copy does not name a grade — "304" and "316" appear zero times across its ten published products. HYV states 18/8 food-grade stainless steel.
Does Chakolab state a BIS licence?
BIS, ISI and IS 17526 appear zero times in Chakolab’s published catalogue, as read on 18 October 2026. That is about what is stated, not what exists — ask the brand. A licence is granted per model.
Is Chakolab worth the price?
If you are buying design and a coordinated range — bottles alongside bento, cutlery and straps — that is a real basis for the premium. If you are buying thermal performance and verifiable materials, ask the four questions above before paying.
Which keeps drinks cold longer?
Not answerable from published data: no hot or cold hour figures appear in the Chakolab product copy we read. HYV publishes four ratings tied to format.

































Leave a comment
This site is protected by hCaptcha and the hCaptcha Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.